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STATE OF DELAWARE

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

DIVISION OF REVENUE
REVENUE REVISION 75-1 April 9, 1975

A.

Legislative Revision:

Chapter 21, Chapter 23, Chapter 25, Chapter 27 and
Chapter 29, Title 30, Delaware Code, relating to revision of
business and occupational license requirements and taxes on
gross receipts,

Citation:

House Bills No. 219, No. 220, No. 221, No. 222 and
No. 224, 128th General Assembly, First Session, approved by the
Governor on March 27, 1975. Chaps., 21-25, Vol. 60, Laws of
Delaware.

Explanation:

(1) License year and basic annual license fee

The law is amended to change the license year with
respect to occupational licenses (Chapter 23, Title 30), Con-
tractors (Chapter 25, Title 30), Manufacturers (Chapter 27,
Title 30), Wholesalers and Retailers (Chapter 29, Title 30)
from a fiscal year ending June 30th to a calendar year ending
December 31. Also, the basic annual license fee in the case
of Contractors, Manufacturers, Wholesalers and Retailers is
increased from $30 to $50 per year. With respect to Retailers,
only one basic $50 license is required for each business or
enterprise, plus a fee of $10 for each separate branch or
business location.

Effective July 1, 1975, license renewals or new
licenses will be issued for a six month period ending
December 31, 1975, at a rate equal to one-half the annual fee
($25 except for certain occupations). On January 1, 1976,
license renewals will be issued for the full calendar year
ending December 31, 1976, at the full rate,

(2) Monthly returns on gross receipts

The law is amended effective April 1, 1975, with
respect to Contractors, Manufacturers, Wholesalers and Retailers
to require that returns reporting gross receipts and the
applicable tax be filed on a monthly basis (instead of quarterly).
Such returns for each month are due on or before the 20th day
of the following month., The return for the month of April, 1975
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will be due May 20, 1975. (H. B. 219).

(3)(j&gﬁﬁ?ZZZ;;;;;\XChapter 27) and Wholesalers (Chapter 29)
V\____/ ’

In addition to the change in the basic license fee and the
requirement for filing monthly returns, the law is amended to in-
crease the tax on gross receipts from two-tenths of one percent to
three-tenths of one percent. (H. B. 220 and H. B. 224),

t
(4) /Food Processors, Grain and Feed Dealers and Farm Machinery
Retailers (Chapter 29, Title 30)

In addition to the change in the basic license fee and the
requirement for filing monthly returns, the law is amended to in-
crease the tax on gross receipts of food processors from one-tenth of
one percent to three-twentieths of one percent, and to increase the
tax on gross receipts of grain and feed dealers and farm machinery
retailers from one-twentieth of one percent to one-fifteenth of one

peiisnt. (H. B, 221).
(SX::EEEEEE;;zf;hhapter 29, Title 30)

In agdition to the change in the basic license fee and the

requirement/Tor filing monthly returns, the law is amended by
eliminating "aggregate purchases" as the base for imposing the tax

and by sybstituting "aggregate gross receipts' as the taxable base.
Further,Nthe rate of tax is changed from eight-tenths of one percent
of purchases to_fifty-five one hundr d§ Lpe percent of gross
receipts. In computing the taxable gross reCeipts there is allowed
a deduction (exclusion) of $10,000 for each month, in lieu of the
$20,000 per quarter deduction allowed under prior law.

Moreover, in the transition to a gross receipts tax base,
each retailer will be allowed a credit for amounts representing
purchases made prior to April 1, 1975, on which tax was paid, but
which items are sold after March 31, 1975, and included in gross
reciéiii,subjeiiRto tax under the new law (H. B, 222).

(6) 7, Restaurant Retailers (Chapter 29, Title 30)
‘\/

In addition he basic license fee and the

requirement for filing monthly returns,\the law,is amended to in-
crease the tax on gross receipts of rest rantféatailers from one~tenth

of one percent to five-tent ne percdnt. Oln computing the amount
of taxable receiptflEE;;;—I2S;?f;3;E_§~3333E319n_£exnlu310n) of
$54999—£9£—§EEEL33%E21 in lieu of $50,000 annual deduction allowed
under prior law. (H. B. 222), "
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Director of Revenue
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