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- Occupational License Tax - Chapter 23, Title 30, Delaware Code.

A. Computation of "Gross Receipts"

Effective April 1, 1975, in addition to the license fee re-
quired under Section 2301 (a) and (b), Section 2301 (d), 30 Delaware Code,
imposes a tax of 3/10 of 1% on the "aggregate gross receipts' of each such
licensee unless specifically exempted therefrom.

Section 2301 (e) defines "gross receipts' for this purpose
as "total consideration received by a licensee for goods sold, services
rendered or other income producing transaction within this State.”

Accordingly, imcome or fees which are attributable to
services rendered outside Delaware (or to transactions occuring outside
Delaware) may be excluded from gross receipts in computing the tax due
under Section 2301 (d).

B. General Service License (Section 2301 (b))

Section 2301 (b) provides that every person engaging in any
service industry, business, calling or profession, not otherwise
specifically licensed and taxed under Section 2301 (a), shall be required
to obtain a general service license and pay an annual fee of $50.00.

In addition, such licensees are also subject to the tax
imposed by Section 2301 (d) of 3/10 of 1% on their aggregate gross receipts,
unless specifically exempted therefrom.

The '"gross receipts" of general service licensees whose income
is derived from commissions or fees (e.g., mortgage service companies),
will consist of such commissions and fees earned during the licemse period.

C. Exemptions

(1) Employees - Persons required to be licensed under
Section 2301 (a) who are "employees" within the meaning of the Federal
Insurance Contribution Act (FICA) are exempt from the additional tax on
gross receipts imposed under Section 2301 (d). For example, employees
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of a private corporation.

(2) The following occupations requiring licenses under

Section 2301 (a) are exempt from the additional gross receipts tax
imposed under Section 2301 (d):

Section 2301 (a) (21) - Circus Exhibitor, $500-
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(a) (28) - Finance or Small Loan Agency, $300
(a) (32) - Hotel, $15 for each room and $20
for each suite
(a) (42) - Motel, $15 for each room
(a) (49) - Outdoor Musical Festival Promotor, $500
(a) (50) - Parking Lot or Garage Operator, $50

kll «x for the first lot or facility and $25
-4 .

' for each additional facility
(a) (66) - Real Estate Salesman, $50
(a) (67) - Sales Representative, $50

X¥ ADDep (37 717- 4 (a) (71) - Showman, $250

(a) (72) - Taxicab or Bus Operator, $30 for the
1 first motor vehicle, $20 for each
additional vehicle
(a) (77) - Tourist Home, $10 for each room
(a) (78) - Trailer Park, $7 for each space
(a) (81)_ - Travel Agency, $150
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(3) _Banks, Holding Companies, - Insurance Companies, etc.

The following are exempt from both the requirements of

Section 2301 (b) (general service license) and Section 2301 (d) (tax of
3/10 of 1% on gross receipts):
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(a) Banks, Holding Companies and Insurance Companies
(including general agents, agents, brokers and employees
licensed under Title 18, Delaware Code).

(b) Pension Plans and Profit Sharing Plans

(c) Public Utilities defined in Chapter 1, Title 26,
or Chapter 15, Title 2, and Public Uitlity Holding
Companies.
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(d) Savings and Loan Associations, or Building and
Loan Associations licensed under Chapter 17, Title 5,
Delaware Code, and similar or related financial in-
stitutions licensed under other provisions of Delaware
Law or Federal Law,

(e) Non-Profit Organizations which are exempt from
Federal income taxation under Section 501 of the
Internal Revenue Code.

D. Returns

The tax on gross receipts imposed by Section 2301 (d),
Title 30, Delaware Code, must be reported and paid quarterly on or before
the 20th day of the month following the close of the quarter ending
March 31, June 30, September 30 and December 31, covering the gross receipts
for the preceding quarter. The first return under the new law will be
due on July 20, 1975, and will cover the gross receipts for the quarter
ending June 30, 1975. New forms will be issued and distributed by the
Division of Revenue about June 1, 1975,

Lou }N}#{}Jgargee

Director of Revenue
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