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SUBJECT: Wholesaler's License and Gross Receipts Tax

This notice will advise Delaware wholesalers of a tax law change
as it affects certain wholesaler licensees and of the Division of
Revenue's interpretation of certain aspects of the wholesaler gross
receipts tax law.

I. Law Change.

Chapter 184, Volume 65, Delaware Laws, signed by Governor Castle
on July 12, 1985, provides for a new monthly deduction of $10,000 to
be applied, effective July 1, 1985, against the .4% (.004) tax on
wholesale gross receipts. This will result in a decrease in gross
receipts taxes paid by wholesalers.

Filing requirements for wholesalers are unaffected by this
statutory amendment. Except as described below, gross receipts
taxes and returns are due on the 20th of each month with respect to
the aggregate gross receipts for the immediately preceding month.
If, however, aggregate gross receipts for any month do not exceed
'$2,000, the return and tax payment for that month is due on or
before the 20th of the month following the close of that calendar
quarter. Taxpayers should be aware that returns are due according
to aggregate gross receipts, not gross receipts net of the monthly
deduction.

Gross receipts returns reflecting this law change are expected
to be mailed by July 31, 1985 to wholesalers whose gross receipts
tax rate is .4% (.004) . These returns are to be used for the
return due August 20, 1985, for July, 1985 gross receipts.

II. Definition of "Physical Delivery" for Purposes of Gross
Receipts Tax. '

Section 2901 (2) (b), Title 30, Delaware Code, defines a
wholesaler's "gross receipts, " in pertinent part, as total
consideration received from sales of tangible personal property
physically delivered within this State to the purchaser or his
agent, but shall not include (i) delivery to the United States mail
or to a common or contract carrier for shipment to a place outside
this State, or (ii) state tobacco products taxes or State motor fuel
taxes paid or payable.

Prior to January 1, 1985, the law had applied the gross receipts
tax when title passed from the wholesaler to a purchaser within
Delaware. Effective January 1, 1985, however, as described above,
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the definition of "gross receipts" was changed to comprise those
receipts derived from sales where the physical delivery of goods
from the seller to the purchaser or his agent occurs within the
State.

The law provides exceptions to the "physical delivery" test
where goods are delivered to the United States mail or to a contract
carrier (irrespective of F.0.B. or delivery terms) for delivery to a
place outside the State. Questions have been raised whether the
exceptions extend, under certain circumstances, to a non-resident
purchaser's "pick up" of goods at a resident wholesaler's place of
business. In general, under the following 1limited circumstances,
such a transaction falls within the intent of the statutory
exceptions.

Transfer of possession of goods from a wholesaler to a
non-resident purchaser or his agent within Delaware is not a taxable
event under §2901, Title 30, Delaware Code, if:

1. Transfer of possession of goods to the purchaser or his
agent occurs within Delaware:

2. The purchaser's employees and vehicles (including ships and
barges) "picking up" the goods in question are not headquartered or
dispatched from within Delaware:

3. The goods in their entirety are for ultimate delivery
outside Delaware and in no respect are inventoried, warehoused., or
otherwise come to substantial rest within the State prior to
ultimate delivery without Delaware; and

4. The wholesaler obtains, with or before the transfer of
possession of the goods, a true and correct Exemption Certificate.
The exemption certificate 1is required to be retained by the
wholesaler for the period of three years after the close of the
calendar year in which the transaction covered by the certificate
occurred. Exemption certificates will be allowed to cover multiple
transactions with the same purchaser. The instructions for the
single and multiple +transaction exemption certificate will be
provided and a pre-printed set of certificate forms will be mailed
to all wholesaler licensees prior to August 23, 1985. Transactions
occuring between January 1, 1985, and August 31, 1985, meeting
conditions (1), (2), and (3) above shall not be considered taxable
for gross receipts purposes if the seller is able to provide
substitute documentation in lieu of exemption certificates
adequately supporting of the existence of those conditions.

Unless each of the foregoing four conditions is met, "pick ups"®
by the purchaser or his agent from the wholesaler generate taxable
gross receipts under §2901, Title 30, Delaware Code.
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