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STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

DiVISION OF REVENUE
DELAWARE STATE BUILDING
820 N. FRENCH STREET
WILMINGTON, DELAWARE 19801

TECHNICAL INFORMATION MEMORANDUM 85-3 July 18, 1985

SUBJECT: Manufacturer's License and Gross Receipts Tax

This notice will advise licensees under the Delaware manufacturers
license tax of recent changes to the Delaware Code as they affect those
taxpayers.

I. Law _Changes.

Chapter 184, Vol. 65, Delaware Laws, signed by Governor Castle on
July 12, 1985, affects Delaware manufacturers as follows:

1. Manufacturers are now to be allowed a monthly deduction of
$500,000 to be used in computation of the manufacturers' gross receipts
tax. In addition, the manufacturing tax rate is reduced from .004 to
.003.

2. Delaware manufacturers had been previously exempt from the tax
and license requirements imposed on retailers and wholesalers in
connection with the sale of goods manufactured in Delaware. However, the
special exemption was repealed to achieve required uniformity in the
Delaware Tax Code so that a license is required for each separate
business. Courts have held that wholesaling and manufacturing are in
fact separate business activities. As a result of this change in the
law, manufacturers will now also be subject to licensing as wholesalers
or retailers and could be subject to gross receipts tax twice on Delaware
sales depending upon the net effect of the tax deductions and tax rate
reduction described above.

3. Most manufacturers will be subject to licensing as wholesalers.
"Wholesaler" for purposes of the wholesalers tax, includes, in part:

"Every person engaged, as owner or agent, in the business of
selling to or exchanging with another person goods for cash or
barter or any consideration for the purpose of resale by the
person acquiring the goods sold or exchanged, and includes
without limitation goods sold or exchanged through outlets,
warehouses and distribution depots of persons whose principal.
place of business is located inside or outside this State and

e also includes the sale of machinery, supplies or materials which

are to be directly consumed or used by the purchaser in the
conduct of any business or activity, which business or activity
is subject to the tax imposed by this chapter...®
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4. Wholesalers will pay a rate of .004 of gross receipts received
from sales of tangible personal property physically delivered within this
State to the purchaser or his agent, but not including: (i) Delivery to
the U.S. mail or to a common or contract carrier for shipment to a place
outside this State; or (ii) State tobacco or motor fuel taxes.
Wholesalers are allowed a monthly deduction of $10,000 against their
gross receipts in computation of the tax. In addition, wholesalers are
subject to an annual license fee of $50 for each place of business pro
ratable to $25 for the remaining half of 1985.

5. Manufacturers who sell at retail will be subject to license and
gross receipts tax for retailers, whose gross receipts are taxed at a
rate of .0075 subject to a deduction of $10,000 per month. Retailers are
subject to an annual license fee of $50 plus $10 for each additional
place of business, pro ratable to half those amounts for the remainder of
1985. :

II. Tax Returns.

1. A license application form is enclosed with this notice. It may
be used to apply for a wholesaler or retailer license. It may be TN
reproduced by the taxpayer to allow application for both licenses, if -
necessary.
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2. Both manufacturer and wholesaler gross receipts returns, revised
to reflect these changes in the law, will be mailed to all current
Delaware manufacturers by July 31, 1985. These returns are to be used
for the remittances due August 20, 1985, for July, 1985 gross receipts.

3. Filing requirements for manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers
are unaffected by this statutory amendment. Except as described below,
gross receipts taxes and returns are due on the 20th of each month with
respect to the aggregate gross receipts for the immediately preceding
month. If, however, aggqregate gross receipts for any month do not exceed
$2,000, the return and tax payment for that month is due on or before the
20th of the month following the close of that calendar quarter.

Taxpayers should be aware that returns are due according to aggregate
gross receipts, not gross receipts net of the monthly deduction.

4. Manufacturers needing additional documents (such as retailers
gross receipts tax returns) or any further assistance relating to this
statutory amendment or other state tax matters, should telephone the
Division of Revenue Taxpayer Assistancf Office at 571-3300.
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Robert W. Chastant
Director of Revenue o
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