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STATE OF DELAWARE

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE
DIVISION OF REVENUE

DELAWARE STATE BUILDING
820 N. FRENCH STREET
WILMINGTON, DELAWARE 19801

DIVISION OF REVENUE
TECHNICAL INFORMATION MEMORANDUM 86-1 January 1, 1986

SUBJECT: Changes in the 1985 Delaware Personal Income Tax
Instructions Relative to Prior Years

This Memorandum is intended to signal some important
changes in the 1985 Delaware Personal Income Tax Instructions
relative to prior years.

1. Extensions The Director of Revenue is authorized by
law to grant extensions of time for payment of tax or
filing of returns on such terms and conditions as the
Director may require. (30 Del. C. §1171)

a. Automatic Extensions As in the past taxpayers
desiring an extension of time to file income tax
returns are required to file Form 1027, entitled
"Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File
Delaware Individual Incone Tax Returns." The
automatic extension is to August 15th. The
application must be filed with the Division of Revenue
on or before the original due date of the return
(generally April 30), along with payment of any
balance of estimated tax 1liability due for the year.
Any unpaid balance will be subject to interest at one
percent (1l%) per month, or fraction of a month, fronm
the original due date of the return until paid.

b. Subsequent Extensions Application for further
.extension of time beyond August 15th must be made by
filing a photocopy of a federal extension application
before the expiration of the extension granted on Form
1027. A photocopy of an approved federal extension
must be attached to the final return when filed. An
approved federal extension will extend the due date of
your Delaware return to the same date as your federal
extension due date. Absence of either timely filing
of the application by way of a photocopied application
or of the approved federal extension will result in a
determination that the return was not filed in the
time prescribed by law.

NOTE: Extension Form 1027A is no longer in effect for
tax year 1985.
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2. Exclusion for Certain Peréohs 60 Years of Age and Over

or Disabled. Section 1106(b)(2), Title 30, Delaware Code,
provides for exclusions from gross income to persons who
meet certain qualifications. 1If you are single or married
and filing separately, the Delaware Law allows an
exclusion of $2,000 to any person who is 60 years of age
or older if: (a) his earned income for the year is less
than $2,500 and (b) his Delaware adjusted gross income
(without reduction by this exclusion) does not exceed
$10,000.

A husband and wife filing a joint return are entitled to
an exclusion of $4,000 if: (a) each is either 60 years of
age or older or totally and permanently disabled and (b)
their total earned income in the taxable year is less than
$5,000 and (c¢) their Delaware adjusted gross income

(without reduction by this exclusion) does not exceed
$20,000.

These 1instructions differ from previous vyears in two
respects: (a) First, the adjusted gross income test in the 1985
Instructions involves only Delaware adjusted gross income
(without regard to this exclusion). Thus, consideration need
not be given to federal adjusted gross income; and (b) Second,
taxpayers filing a joint return are entitled to a $4,000
exclusion only if both spouses are of qualifying age or
disability and if their joint earned and adjusted groses incomes
satisfy the foregoing criteria. It is not possible for either
spouse to qualify alone for the individual $2,000/exclusion if
that spouse files a joint return. :

The Division welcomes any inquiries relative to these or
other State Tax matters. Our Taxpayer Assistance Bureau can be

reached at (302) 571-3300.
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Robert W. Chastant
Director of Revenue




