STATE OF DELAWARE
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

DivISION OF REVENUE
CARVEL STATE BUILDING
820 N. FRENCH STREET
P.O.Box 8911
WILMINGTON, DELAWARE 19899-8911

DIVISION OF REVENUE
AUGUST 19, 1999
TECHNICAL INFORMATION MEMORANDUM 99-3

SUBJECT: MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BONDING REQUIREMENTS

CONTACT: RONALD A KAMINSKI
(302) 577-8445

This Technical Information Memorandum defines the new bonding requirements for motor
vehicle dealers who provide self-financing without interest charges on the retail installment
sales of motor vehicles. Motor vehicle dealers who provide self-financing with an interest
charge continue to be subject to the regulations of the State Bank Commissioner and are
not affected by this regulation.

Any motor vehicle dealer who is not required to provide a surety bond to the Banking
Commissioner, and who, as a retail seller, self-finances any sale of a motor vehicle to a
retail buyer without charging interest to the buyer must supply an original surety bond to
the Division of Revenue as a condition of applying for or renewing a Delaware business
license as a Motor Vehicle Dealer. The surety bond in the amount of $25,000, payable to
the State of Delaware must be issued by a corporation authorized to conduct business in
this State. The term of the bond shall be continuous with the license period and the
expiration date of the bond shall not be earlier than December 31 of the initial application
year or December 31% of the year for which such license is being renewed.

The Division of Revenue will accept surety bonds in any format provided: 1) The bond is
made payable to the State of Delaware, 2) The bond is in the amount of $25,000 and

3) The bond shall not expire earlier than December 31st of the year in which it is issued.
The Division will also accept a cash bond or an irrevocable letter of credit issued by a
Delaware financial institution in lieu of the surety bond. Sample bonds are included with

this regulation. M |
William M. ReminJon

Director of Revenue




MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER
BOND

DIVISION OF REVENUE State of Belaware ( BOND NO.
P.O. BOX 8911 e €
820 N. FRENCH STREET o 2
WILMINGTON DE 19801 '
Know All Men by These Presents, that we
as Principal, and , a corporation duly incorporated under the
laws of the State of as Surety, are held and firmly bound unto the

State of Delaware in the sum of TWENTY-FIVE THOUSAND Dollars ($25,000), lawful money of the
United States of America for the payment of which, well and truly to be made, we bind ourselves, our
heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these
presents:

SEALED WITH OUR SEALS and dated this day of
in the year of

WHEREAS, the above named Principal is conducting business as a Motor Vehicle Dealer in
Delaware and pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 30 of the Delaware Code is subject to certain
liabilities under §3005(b) of said Title to the State of Delaware and whereas, this bond is an amount of
$25,000, is undertaken to guarantee payment to the State of Delaware of said liabilities.

NOW, THEREFORE, THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION IS SUCH that the Motor
Vehicle Dealer must maintain this bond in full force for the period of time that such Motor Vehicle
Dealer operates such business within this State. The bond is for the benefit of consumers injured by
any wrongful act, omission, default, fraud, or misrepresentation by the licensed retail seller in the
course of conducting business as a Motor Vehicle Dealer. No cancellation of this surety bond shall be
effective unless written notice of its intent to cancel is filed with the Delaware Division of Revenue at
least 30 days before the date upon which the cancellation is to take effect.

Signed, sealed and delivered in the presence of

Principal

Indemnity Company

Attorney-in-Fact
TO BE FILLED IN BY PRINCIPAL

Delaware License No. Employer Federal Id. No.




RECEIPT FOR
MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER
CASH BOND

820 N. FRENCH STREET
WILMINGTON DE 19801

DIVISION OF REVENUE State of Belamare
P.0. BOX 8911 S, —esY

RECEIVED OF
a motor vehicle dealer in the State of Delaware, this day of ,
in the year , $25,000 (Check No. /' U.S. Currency) in payment of a
cash bond in satisfaction of the aforesaid motor vehicle dealer's bonding obligations under Chapter 30
of Title 30 of the Delaware Code.

For the Division of Revenue

Motor Vehicle Dealer

Federal Employer's Identification No.




Delaware Division of Revenue
820 N. French Street
Wilmington, DE 19899

To:

NEW BONDING REQUIREMENTS FOR
MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS

House Bill 163 creates a new bonding requirement for motor vehicle dealers. Any motor vehicle

dealer who is not required to provide a surety bond to the Banking Commissioner, and who, as
a retail seller, self-finances any sale of a motor vehicle to a retail buyer without charging interest
to the buyer must supply an original surety bond to the Delaware Division of Revenue as a
condition of applying for or renewing a Delaware business license as a Motor Vehicle Dealer.
The surety bond in the amount of $25,000, payable to the State of Delaware must be issued by
a corporation authorized to conduct business this State. The term of the bond shall be
continuous with the license period and the expiration date of the bond shall not be earlier than
December 31% of the initial application year or December 31% of the year for which such license
is being renewed. Please see Technical Information Memorandum 99-3 which is attached for
additional details.

ALL MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS MUST COMPLETE THE
FOLLOWING AND RETURN TO THE ABOVE ADDRESS

1) Do you self-finance the sale of motor vehicles to your retail customers?
Yes No

(If you answered “NO” to question #1, Skip question 2 & Item 3, sign and return to above
address, otherwise answer questions # 2 & 3)

2) Do you charge interest on your retail installment sales of motor vehicles?
Yes No

(If you answered “Yes” to question #2, Skip item #3, sign and return to the above address.)

3) If you answered “No” to question #2, you are required to supply a bond in
the amount of $25,000 as a condition for maintaining or renewing your
license as a Motor Vehicle Dealer. The bond that you are supplying may not
expire before December 31, 1999. Sign this document and return with your
bond to the above address. '

Name Title " Date




