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DELAWARE                    INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF FORM DE-2210
FORM DE2210-I                   (FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAXES)
urpose of Form
 
se Form DE2210 to compute your penalty for underpaying your
stimated taxes. 

se of Form

ou may choose to use the Short Method (Part 2) of this form if you
ade equal estimated payments on or before the dates they were due
r made no estimated tax payments. You may choose to use the
nnualized Method (Part 3) of this form if your income was earned
nevenly throughout the year.  If you choose to compute your penalty
sing this form, you MUST check the 2210 indicator box in the upper
ight hand portion of your return, and include Form DE2210 with your
eturn. Resident filers using Filing Status 4 should combine (net) the
mounts in both columns of their tax return before transferring
igures to the DE2210 (create one combined Form DE2210 for both
pouses).

ho Must Pay the Underpayment Penalty:

n general, you will owe the penalty for 2003 if you did not pay at least
he smaller of:

1. 90% of the Tax Balance shown on Line 14 of the 2003
Delaware Resident Tax Return (Line 47 of the Non-
Resident Form); or

2. 100% of the Tax Balance shown on Line 14 of your 2002
return (Line 47 of the Non-Resident Return).  Note:  If
you are not a farmer or fisherman and your Adjusted
Gross Income (AGI) on the 2002 return is in excess of
$150,000 ($75,000 if Married Filing Separate Returns,
Filing Status 3), you must use 110% of the 2002 Tax
Balance.

he penalty is figured separately for each installment due date.
herefore, you may owe the penalty for an earlier due date even if you
aid enough tax to make up the underpayment (even if you are due a
efund when you file your return).

xceptions to the Penalty:

ou will not have to pay the penalty if either:

1. You had no Delaware tax liability in the previous year
(Line 14 on the 2002 Resident return or Line 47 on the
Non-Resident form); or

2. The tax liability minus non-refundable credits (Line 14 on
the 2003 Resident return or Line 47 of the Non-Resident
form) MINUS the amount of your Delaware Withholding &
S Corp payments for 2003 (Line 15 + Line 17 on the
Resident or Line 48 + Line 50 of the  Non-Resident) is
less than $400; or

3. You were a Part-Year resident during 2003; or
4. You derived at least 2/3 of your Gross Income from

farming or fishing, and paid the total estimated tax due by
January 15th 2004, or filed your return by March 1, 2004
AND paid the total tax due at that time.

aiver of the Penalty:

nce the penalty has been assessed you may request a waiver of the
enalty by writing to:

Tax Conferee
Delaware Division of Revenue

P O Box 8714
Wilmington, DE 19899-8714

easons for requesting a waiver are:

1. The underpayment was due to a casualty, disaster, or
other unusual circumstance (explain the circumstance); or

2. In 2002 or 2003 you retired after age 62 or became
disabled.

If one of these reasons apply to you, DO NOT check the 2210 indicator
box and DO NOT submit the form.  You will be given a chance to request
a waiver after the penalty has been assessed.

Specific Instructions

The DE 2210 is divided into 5 parts as follows:

1. The Required Annual Payment
2. The Short Method
3. Annualized Income Installment Method
4. Computation of the Over/Underpayment
5. Computation of the Penalty

1. The Required Annual Payment. 

Use this part to figure the amount of your required annual payment.
Note:  line numbers in parentheses refer to lines on the Non-
Resident Form.

A. Enter 90% of Line 14 (Line 47) from your 2003 Delaware
Return.

B. Enter 100% (110% if your 2002 Delaware AGI is more
than 150,000 or 75,000 if filing status is 3) of Line 14
(Line 47) of your 2002 Delaware Return.

C. Enter the smaller of Line A or B. This is your required
annual payment, which should have been made in 4
equal payments.

D. Enter the total of your Delaware Withholding and any S
Corp payments made on your behalf.

E. Subtract Line D from Line C.  Note: if this amount is
$400 or less, stop here.  You do not owe the penalty.

2. The Short Method.

Once you have figured the required annual payment, you may use the
Short Method ONLY if:

a. You made no estimated payments; or
b. You paid estimated tax in 4 equal amounts on or before

the  due dates (April 30th, June 16th, September 15th, and
January 15th).

You may not use the Short Method if you made any of the payments
late.

Line by Line instructions:

F. Enter the total of your Estimated Tax payments.
G. Enter Delaware Withholding and S Corp payments made

in your behalf.
H. Add lines F and G.
I. Total Underpayment for the year (Subtract Line H from

Line C).  If zero or less stop here.  You do not owe the
penalty.

J. Multiply Line I times 0.12.
K. If the amount on Line I was paid on or after April 30,

2004, enter zero (0).  If it was paid before April 30, 2004,
count the number of days from the date you paid the
amount on Line I to April 30, 2004.  Multiply the number
of days by 0.0005 times the amount on Line I and enter
the results on Line K.

L. Subtract Line K from Line J.  This is your penalty for
underpayment of Estimated Taxes.  Add this amount to
the other penalties and interest due on Line 23 of the
Resident return and Line 56 of the Non-Resident return.

3. The Annualized Installment Method.

This method should be used by individuals whose income is earned in an
uneven fashion throughout the year.  Examples would be receiving large
Capital Gains or bonuses late in the year.

To use this form, enter the income and deductions applicable to each
period as follows:



Column 1 enter the income/deductions for the period
01/01/2003 through 03/31/2003

Column 2 enter the income/deductions for the period
01/01/2003 through 05/31/2003

Column 3 enter the income/deductions for the period
01/01/2003 through 08/31/2003

Column 4 enter the income/deductions for the period
01/01/2003 through 12/31/2003 

Line by Line Instructions (Line numbers in parenthesis refer to the
Non-Resident Return)

1. Non-Resident indicator.  If you are a Non-Resident or
Part-Year Resident using the Non-Resident tax form, put
an “X” in this box.  Part-Year Residents using the Non-
Resident return should follow the instructions for
Non-Residents.

2. Enter your Delaware AGI from Line 1 (Line 37) of your
2003 Delaware return for the periods indicated.  Example:
in the Third column enter your AGI for the period January
1, 2003 through August 31, 2003.

3. This Line has been filled in.
4. Multiply Line 2 by Line 3 for each column (this is your

annualized income for each period).
5. Enter your Delaware Itemized Deductions for each period

indicated.  If you did not itemize your deductions, enter
zero (0) and skip to Line 8.

6. This Line has been filed in.
7. Multiply Line 5 times Line 6 for each column.
8. Enter the Delaware Standard Deduction and Additional

Standard Deduction (if applicable) Amounts.   Note:  the
same number should be entered in each column.

9. Delaware Deductions.  If you used Itemized deductions
enter the amounts from Line 7 in each column.  If you
used the Delaware Standard Deduction, enter the amount
from Line 8 in each column. 

10. Delaware Taxable Income.  Subtract Line 9 from Line 4.
11. Tax.  Using the tax table or tax schedule, figure the tax on

the amount on Line 10 for each column.
12. Tax on Lump Sum.  See the instructions for tax on lump

sum distributions (Line 7) in the Resident Instruction
Booklet (Page 6).

13. This is your total tax.   Add Lines 11 and 12.
14. Non-Residents only. Multiply Line 13 times the

Proration Percentage from the center of Line 42 of your
tax return.

15. Enter the Total Personal Credit amount.  Include any
personal credits for being 60 or over (if applicable).

16. Non-Residents only.  Multiply Line 15 times the
Proration Percentage from the center of Line 42 of your
Tax Return.

17. Other non-refundable credits. Add Lines 10, 11, & 12 of
the Resident (or Lines 44 & Line 45 of Non-Resident) tax
return, and enter here.

18. Residents subtract Line 15 plus Line 17 from Line 13.
Non-Residents and Part Year Residents subtract Line
16 plus Line 17 from Line 14.

19. Multiplier.  This number is pre-printed.
20. Multiply Line 18 times the amount on Line 19 for each

column.

NOTE:  From this point on, complete Lines 21 through 27
down each column before going to the next column.

21. Blank for the first column.  Enter the sum of all previous
Lines 27 for the remaining columns (in Column 3 you are
adding Column 1 Line 27 plus Column 2 Line 27).

22. Subtract Line 21 from Line 20.  If 0 or less, enter 0.
23. Enter 1/4th of your Required Annual Payment from Part 1,

Line C.
24. Blank for the first column.  For all other columns enter the

amount from Line 26 of the previous column.
25. Add Line 23 and Line 24.
26. Subtract Line 22 from Line 25.  If zero or less, enter zero

(0).
27. Enter the Smaller of Line 22 or 25 here and on Line 28. 

4. Computing the over/under payment.

In this section you will compute the amount of your over/under payment
for each period.

28. Enter the amount from Part 3, Line 27.
29. Enter the amount of Estimated Tax Payments made on

your behalf FOR EACH PERIOD ONLY.  In column 1
enter the payments for the period January 1st through
April 30th.  In the second column enter the payments
made from May 1st through June 16th.  In the third column
enter the payments made between June 17th and
September 15th, and in the fourth column enter the
payments made between September 16th and January
15th.

30. Enter the amount of Delaware Withholding and S Corp
payments made on your behalf FOR EACH PERIOD
ONLY.  

31. Add Lines 29 and 30.
  
NOTE:  Complete Lines 32 through Line 38 down each column
before going to the next column.

32. Blank for Column 1.  Enter previous Line 38 amount for
all other columns (ie. Column 2 equals Line 38 Column 1,
Column 3 equals Line 38 Column 2, etc.).

33. Blank for Column 1.  For all others columns add Lines 31
& 32.

34. Blank for Column 1.  For all other columns, add amounts
from Lines 36 and 37 of the previous column (ie. Column
2 equals Line 36 Column 1 plus Line 37 Column 1, etc.).

35. For Column 1 only, enter amount from Line 31.   For other
columns, subtract   Line 34 from Line 33.  If zero (0) or
less, enter zero (0).

36. Blank for column 1.  For all other columns if Line 35 = 0,
then subtract Line 33 from Line 34.  Otherwise, enter zero
(0).

37. Underpayment.  If Line 28 is equal to or larger than Line
35, subtract Line 35 from Line 28, and go to Line 32 of
the next column.  Otherwise, go to Line 38.

38. Overpayment.  If Line 35 is larger than Line 28, subtract
Line 28 from Line 35.  Then go to Line 32 of the next
column.

5. Computing the Penalty.

Figure the penalty by applying the appropriate rate against each
underpayment shown on Line 37 for as long as an underpayment
remains.  Adjust this amount as payments are made.

39. These are the dates the payments on Line 37 are due.
40. Compute the number of days between the due date on

Line 39 and the date the amount on Line 37 is paid or
April 30, 2004 whichever is earlier.  Stop the computation
when the total underpayment for the year has been paid
or April 30, 2004 (whichever is earlier).  Repeat the
computation for each column. (NOTE:  If the amount
due is not paid with one payment, the penalty for the
period should be figured on a separate sheet and the
total entered on this Line.  For example, if Line 37
column 1 shows an underpayment of  $300, and $200

th, and $200 was paid on
th 

$100 of the payment made in September is available
to be applied to a June 16th underpayment, if
necessary.)

41. Multiply Line 40 times 0.0005. 
42. Multiply Line 41 times Line 37. This is the penalty for the

period.  Repeat the computation for each column.
43. Sum the columns for a total penalty.

Enter the amount of the penalty you computed by either the Short
Method or the Annualized Method on Line 23 of the Resident or on Line
56 of the Non-Resident return.  

Please remember to check the 2210 Indicator box and submit a
copy of this form with your return.  Checking the box without
submitting a form will unnecessarily delay the processing of your
return.       

was paid on June 16

days on $300, and 91 days on $100.   The remaining
September 15 ,  the penalty would be figured for 47

                                         (Revised 12/23/03)
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