
DELAWARE INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF FORM DE-2210
FORM DE2210-I (FOR UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAXES)

  

Purpose of Form
 
Use Form DE2210 to compute your penalty for underpaying your 
estimated taxes. If you choose to compute your penalty using this form 
and a penalty due is calculated OR if you use Part 3 – Annualized Install-
ment Method:

•  Check the “Form DE 2210 Attached” box on the front of your   
Delaware personal income tax return and

•  Attach your completed Form DE 2210 to your return.

Do not submit a Federal Form 2210 instead of a Delaware Form DE 2210. 
Do not submit computer worksheets in lieu of the Form DE 2210.

Use of Form

You may choose to use the Short Method  (Part 2) of this form if you 
made equal estimated payments on or before the dates they were due 
or made no estimated tax payments.   You may choose to use the 
Annualized Method   (Part  3)  of  this  form  if  your  income  was  earned  
unevenly throughout  the  year.  Resident  �lers  using  Filing  Status  4  
should combine (net) the amounts  in  both  columns  of  their  tax  return 
before transferring �gures to the DE2210 (create one combined Form 
DE2210 for both spouses).

Who Must Pay the Underpayment Penalty:

In general, you will owe the penalty for 2014 if you did not pay at least 
the smaller of:

1.  90% of the Tax Balance shown on  Line 16 of the 2014 Delaware 
Resident Tax Return (Line 47 on the Non- Resident Form); or

2.  100% of the Tax Balance shown on Line 16 of your 2013 return 
(Line  47  on the  Non-Resident  Return). Note: If you are not a 
farmer or �sherman and your Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) on 
the 2013 return is in excess of $150,000 ($75,000 if Married Filing 
Separate Returns, Filing Status 3), you must use 110% of the 2013 
Tax Balance.

The penalty is �gured separately for each installment due date. 
Therefore, you may owe the penalty for an earlier due date even if you 
paid enough tax to make up the underpayment (even if you are due a 
refund when you �le your return).

Exceptions to the Penalty:

You will not have to pay the penalty if either:

1.  You had no Delaware tax liability in the previous year (Line 16 on 
the 2013 Resident return or Line 47 on the Non-Resident form); 
or

2.  The tax liability minus non-refundable credits (Line 16 on the 
2014 Resident return or Line 47 on the Non-Resident form) 
MINUS refundable credits (Line 21 on the 2014 Resident return or 
Line 52 on the 2014 Non-Resident return) is less than $400; or

3.  You were a Part-Year resident during 2014; or
4.  You derived  at  least  2/3  of  your  Gross  Income  from farming or 

�shing, and paid the total estimated tax due by January 15th 
2015, or �led your return by March 3, 2015 AND paid the total tax 
due at that time.

Waiver of the Penalty:

Once the penalty has been assessed you may request a waiver of the 
penalty by writing to:

Tax Conferee Delaware Division of Revenue
P O Box 8714

Wilmington, DE 19899-8714

Reasons for requesting a waiver are:
1.  The underpayment was due to a casualty, disaster, or other 

unusual circumstance (explain the circumstance); or
2.  In 2013 or 2014 you retired after age 62 or became disabled.

If one of these reasons applies to you, DO NOT check the 2210 indicator 
box and DO NOT submit the form. You will be given a chance to request 
a waiver after the penalty has been assessed.
 

Speci�c Instructions

The DE 2210 is divided into 5 parts as follows:
1. The Required Annual Payment
2. The Short Method
3. Annualized Income Installment Method
4. Computation of the Over/Underpayment
5. Computation of the Penalty

1. The Required Annual Payment.

Use  this  part  to  �gure  the  amount  of  your  required  annual  payment. 
Note: line numbers in parentheses refer to lines on the Non-Resident 
Form.

A. Enter 90% of Line 16 (Line 47) from your 2014 Delaware Return.
B. Enter 100% (110% if your 2013 Delaware AGI is more than 

150,000 or 75,000 if �ling status is 3) of Line 16 (Line 47) of your 
2013 Delaware Return.

C. Enter the smaller of Line A or B. This is your required annual 
payment, which should have been made in 4 equal payments.

D. Enter the total amount of Delaware tax withheld, S Corp 
payments made on your behalf, and approved Refundable 
Business Credits.

E. Subtract Line D from Line C.   Note:  if this amount is $400 or less, 
stop here. You do not owe the penalty.

2. The Short Method.

Once you have �gured the required annual payment, you may use the 
Short Method ONLY if:

a. You made no estimated payments; or
b. You paid estimated tax in 4 equal amounts on or before the due 

dates (April 30th, June 17th, September 16th, and January 15th).
You may not use the Short Method if you made any of the payments late.
You may not use the Short Method if any Capital Gain Tax payments 
were made on your behalf.
Line by Line instructions:

F. Enter the total of your Estimated Tax payments.
G. Enter the total amount of Delaware tax withheld, S Corp 

payments made on your behalf, and approved Refundable 
Business Credits.

H. Add lines F and G.
I. Total Underpayment for the year (Subtract Line H from Line C). If 

zero or less stop here. You do not owe the penalty.
J. Multiply Line I times 0.12.
K. If the amount on Line I was paid on or after April 30, 2015 , enter 

zero (0). If it was paid before April 30, 2015, count the number of 
days from the date you paid the amount on Line I to April 30, 
2015 Multiply the number of days by 0.0005 times the amount 
on Line I and enter the results on Line K.

L. Subtract Line K from Line J. This is your penalty for underpayment 
of Estimated Taxes. Add this amount to the other penalties and 
interest due on Line 25 of the Resident return and Line 56 of the 
Non-Resident return.

3. The Annualized Installment Method.

This method should be used by individuals whose income is earned in 
an uneven fashion throughout the year. Examples would be receiving 
large Capital Gains or bonuses late in the year.

To use this form, enter the income and deductions applicable to each 
period as follows:

Column  1   enter  the  income/deductions  for  the  period  01/01/2014 
through 03/31/2014

Column  2   enter  the  income/deductions  for  the  period  01/01/2014 
through 05/31/2014

Column  3   enter  the  income/deductions  for  the  period  01/01/2014 
through 08/31/2014

Column  4   enter  the  income/deductions  for  the  period  01/01/2014 
through 12/31/2014
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Line by  Line  Instructions (Line  numbers  in parenthesis  refer  to  
the Non-Resident Return)

1.  Non-Resident indicator. If you are a Non-Resident or  
Part-Year Resident  using the Non-Resident tax form, put 
an “X” in this box. Part-Year Residents  using the 
Non-Resident  return  should follow  the instructions for  
Non -Residents.

2.  Enter your Delaware AGI from Line 1 (Line 37) of your 2014 
Delaware return for the periods indicated. Example: in the 
Third column enter your AGI for the period January 1, 2014  
through August 31, 2014.

3.  This Line has been filled.
4.  Multiply Line 2 by Line 3 for each column (this is your 

annualized income for each period).
5.  Enter your Delaware Itemized Deductions for each period 

indicated. If you did not itemize your  deductions,  enter  
zero  (0) and skip to Line 8.

6.  This Line has been filled.
7.  Multiply Line 5 times Line 6 for each column.
8.  Enter the Delaware Standard Deduction and Additional 

Standard Deduction (if applicable) Amounts. Note:  the  
same  number should be entered in each column.

9.  Delaware Deductions.   If you used Itemized deductions 
enter the amounts from  Line 7 in  each  column.  If you  
used the Delaware Standard Deduction, enter the amount  
from Line 8 in each column.

10.  Delaware Taxable Income.  Subtract Line 9 from Line 4.
11.   Tax. Using  the  tax  table  or  tax  schedule,  figure  the  tax  

on  the amount on Line 10 for each column.
12.  Tax on  Lump  Sum. See  the  instructions  for  tax  on  lump  

sum distributions (Line 7) in the Resident Instruction 
Booklet (Page 6).

13.  This is your total tax. Add Lines 11 and 12.
14.  Non-Residents   only.   Multiply Line  13 times   the   

Proration Percentage from the center of Line 42 of your tax 
return.

15.  Enter the Total Personal Credit amount. Include any  
personal credits for being 60 or over (if applicable).

16.  Non-Residents only.  Multiply  Line 15  times the   Proration 
Percentage from the center of Line 42 of your Tax Return.

17.  Other  non-refundable  credits.  Add  Lines 10, 11, 12, 13 & 
14 of the Resident  (or  Lines  44 & Line  45  of 
Non-Resident) tax return, and enter here.

18.  Residents subtract Line 15 plus Line 17 from Line 13. 
Non-Residents and Part Year Residents subtract Line 16 
plus Line 17 from Line 14.

19.  Multiplier.  This number is pre-printed.
20.  Multiply Line 18 times the amount on Line 19 for each 

column.

NOTE:   From  this  point on,  complete Lines  21 through  27 down 
each column before going  to the next column.

21.  Blank for the first column.  Enter the sum of all previous 
Lines 27 for the remaining columns (in Column 3 you are 
adding Column 1 Line 27 plus Column 2 Line 27).

22.  Subtract Line 21 from Line 20.   If 0 or less, enter 0.
23.  Enter 1/4th of your Required Annual Payment from Part 1, 

Line C.
24.  Blank for the first column.  For all other columns enter the 

amount from Line 26 of the previous column.
25.  Add Line 23 and Line 24.
26.  Subtract Line 22 from Line 25.   If zero or less, enter zero 

(0).
27.  Enter the Smaller  of Line 22 or 25 here and on Line 28.

4.  Computing the over/under payment.
 

In  this  section  you will  compute  the  amount  of your  over/under 
payment for each period.

28.  Enter the amount from Part 3, Line 27.

29.  Enter the amount of Estimated and Capital Gain Tax 
Payments  made on your behalf FOR EACH PERIOD 
ONLY. In Column 1 enter the payments for the period 
January 1st  through April 30th . In the second column enter 
the payments made from May 1st though June 17th. In the 
third column enter the payments made between June 18th 
and September 16th. And in the fourth column enter the 
payments made between September 17th and January 
15th.

30.  FOR EACH PERIOD ONLY, enter the amount of Delaware 
withholding, S Corp payments and Refundable Business 
Credits.

31.  Add Lines 29 and 30.

NOTE: Complete Lines 32 through Line 38 down each column 
before going to the next column.

32.  Blank for Column 1. Enter previous Line 38 amount for all 
other columns (i.e. Column 2 equals Line 38 Column 1, 
Column 3 equals Line 38 Column 2, etc.).

33.  Blank for Column 1. For all others columns add Lines 31 & 
32.

34.  Blank for Column 1. For  all  other  columns,  add amounts  
from Lines  36  and  37  of  the  previous  column (i.e. 
Column 2 equals Line 36 Column 1 plus Line 37 Column 1, 
etc.).

35.  For  Column  1   only,  enter  amount  from  Line  31.   For  
other columns, subtract Line 34 from Line 33. If zero (0) or 
less,  enter zero (0).

36.  Blank  for  column  1.  For  all  other  columns  if  Line  35 = 
0, then subtract Line 33 from Line 34. Otherwise, enter zero 
(0).

37.  Underpayment.  If  Line  28  is  equal to or larger  than Line 
35, subtract  Line  35  from  Line  28,  and  go  to Line 32 of 
the next column. Otherwise, go to Line 38.

38.  Overpayment. If Line 35 is larger  than Line 28, subtract 
Line 28 from Line 35. Then go to Line 32 of the next column.

5.  Computing  the Penalty.

Figure the penalty by applying the appropriate rate against each 
underpayment shown on Line 37 for as long  as  an  underpayment 
remains.   Adjust this amount as payments are made.

39.  These are the dates the payments on Line 37 are due.
40.  Compute the number of days between the due date on Line 

39 and the date the amount on  Line 37 is paid or April 30, 
2015 whichever  is  earlier. Stop  the  computation  when  
the  total underpayment for the   year has been paid or April 
30, 2015 (whichever is earlier).  Repeat the computation for 
each column. (NOTE:    If th e amount due is not paid with 
one payment, the penalty for the period should be figured 
on a separate sheet and the total entered  on this Line.  For 
example, if Line 37 column 1 shows an underpayment of 
$300, and $200 was paid on June 17th, and $200 was paid 
on September 16th,   the penalty would be figured for 48 
days on $300, and 93 days on $100. The  remaining $100 
of the  payment  made in September is available to be 
applied to a  June  17th underpayment , if necessary.)

41.  Multiply Line 40 times 0.0005.
42.  Multiply  Line  41  times  Line  37.  This  is  the  penalty for 

the period. Repeat the computation for each column.
43.  Sum the columns for a total penalty.

Enter  the  amount  of  the  penalty  you  computed   by  either  the  
Short Method or the Annualized Method on Line 25  of the 
Resident Return or on Line 56 of the Non-Resident return.

Please remember  to check  the Form  DE2210  Attached box and  
submit a copy of this form with your return.   Checking the box 
without submitting a form will unnecessarily delay the processing 
of your return.

(Revised 10/27/14)
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