Delaware Personal Income Tax filing opens January 31st

** FREE ONLINE FILING EQUALS QUICK REFUNDS **


Statewide, DE - January 29, 2014 - Division of Revenue Director Patrick T. Carter announced today that Delaware will start processing taxpayers 2013 State of Delaware Personal Income Taxes beginning this Friday, January 31, 2014. Citizens are encouraged to file online for free at www.delaware.gov. This year's filing deadline is April 30, 2014.

Delaware's free online filing system is available at www.delaware.gov with no income qualifications. The system is offered by the Delaware Division of Revenue and offers many advantages, most not available if filing a paper return:

  • Faster Refunds: On average, refunds from e-filed returns are issued two to four weeks faster than paper-filed returns.
  • Flexibility: Taxpayers can file their taxes electronically and then schedule any payment due closer to the April 30th deadline.
  • Convenience: The system is extremely user-friendly and available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
  • Choice: Taxpayers may pay their State of Delaware taxes using a credit card or by debiting their bank account.

By law, Delaware taxpayers should receive their W-2 employment forms by January 31, 2014 for any job worked during the 2013 calendar year. Those who haven't received a W-2 by January 31st should contact their employer immediately.

Because Delaware does not maintain reciprocity agreements with other states, it is important for anyone who is not a Delaware resident - but who has worked in Delaware - to understand that they must file a Delaware tax return. Likewise, Delaware Residents who work out-of-state are required to file returns with Delaware, in addition to the state where they worked.

** FREE ONLINE FILING EQUALS QUICK REFUNDS **

###

Contact:
Angela Moffett-Batty
302-577-8522