Typical Delaware Personal Income Tax refunds may take up to 10-12 weeks to process More Info
Any person who solicits door-to-door sales to a residential home in the State of Delaware is now required to display a Salesperson Identification Card (ID card).
Pursuant to House Bill 49 of Delaware’s 146th General Assembly, Salesperson ID Cards must be worn at all times when conducting door-to-door sales in Delaware. In addition, door-to-door sales in Delaware may only occur between the hours of 9 a.m. and 8 p.m. EST.
Delaware residents are encouraged to call their local police departments if they see anyone in their neighborhoods conducting door-to-door sales without wearing the registered Salesperson ID Card, or if they are visited by someone who isn’t wearing a registered Salesperson ID Card.
Failure by a business to comply with H.B. 49 by conducting door-to-door sales without wearing the registered Salesperson ID Card could result in criminal prosecution, as well as fines of up to $150 for the first offense and $250 for each subsequent offense. Anyone wearing a forged ID Card that has not been issued by the State of Delaware, or falsely obtained for deceitful or malicious intent, also faces criminal prosecution and fines of up to $150 for the first offense and $250 for each subsequent offense.
Salesperson ID Cards are available at no cost and must be updated each year:
To verify that a Salesperson ID Card is not a forgery, the names of all Salesperson ID Card holders are available online at dorweb.revenue.delaware.gov. These names will be updated throughout the year.
As always, residents are encouraged to take all necessary precautions when opening the door to unfamiliar solicitations. Having a Salesperson ID Card does not mean the State of Delaware has approved its holder for door-to-door sales. Instead, the Salesperson ID Card states that its holder is a verified employee of the licensed State of Delaware business listed on the ID Card.
A door-to-door Salesperson Identification Card does not apply to persons working on behalf of a non-profit, conducting home sales events, public utility and cable television system operators, as well as persons soliciting sales via telephone, mail, email, internet or through door drop.
For more information, please contact the Delaware Division of Revenue Business Master File at (302) 577-8778.
Related Topics: business, door-to-door, finance, ID, ID card, revenue, salesperson, taxes